Posted by: danielharan | July 15, 2007

Net addiction?

My whole life is managed through the internet. It’s my phone, yellow pages, maps. I use it to connect with friends and make plans to meet ‘in real life’.

The wireless connection here has been pretty unreliable. My landlord has been putting off hiring someone to repair the system. There’s a router on each of the 10 floors of the building, and a company has quoted $10,000 to configure it. 10 grand… some people are obviously making lots of cash on this wireless thing.

If I had a key to the room that has the router, I could simply power cycle it, but I have to go through layers of bureaucracy in my apartment building to get someone to do it. Last night, that took an hour, two before the connection came back.

Some might call this a case of addiction. 15 minutes without net and I’m starting to fidget. I don’t mind going for hours without an email when I know the connection is there when I want it.

People would probably freak out just like I did if their cell phone died. It’s a social connector and being out of the social loop is a scary thing for us social animals. For nerds, that connector is your net.

Feel free to comment anonymously if you think I’m addicted though 🙂

Responses

  1. hi,
    same to u… sometimes i feel that, i can’t live without net. Here too much net slow, so sometimes i felt that, i just wasting my money+time but i have to manage to use of slow connection and here too much costly.

    Randomly talking with you, whatever comes from my mind. Sorry for that 😦

    dear thanks.

  2. Have you ever considered about adding a little bit more than just your articles?

    I mean, what you say is fundamental and everything.
    However think about if you added some great pictures or video clips to give your posts more, “pop”!
    Your content is excellent but with pics and clips, this site could definitely be one of the best in its niche.
    Great blog!


Leave a Reply

Categories

